# 2012 GCNA CONGRESS HIGHLIGHTS

Clemson University Clemson, South Carolina

The Guild extends its thanks to Clemson University; President James F. Barker; Dean of the College of Architecture, Arts and Humanities Rick Goodstein; Performing Arts Department Chair David Hartmann; Congress Host Linda Dzuris and the Clemson staff and volunteers who made the 70<sup>th</sup> annual Guild congress a successful and memorable event.

**CARILLONNEUR EXAMINATION:** Three candidates passed their examination recitals and were welcomed into Carillonneur membership: Jessica Hsieh, Vera Wuensche and Katherine Zhou.

**ASSOCIATE CARILLONNEUR EXAMINATION:** Ethan Schwartz and Janet Vong passed the examination. They are the first to do so. The examination process was authorized by the board in 2010 and begun in 2011. Thanks to Chair Margo Halsted and jurors Don Cook, Ellen Dickinson, Linda Dzuris and Jim Fackenthal, each of whom will continue to serve during 2012-2013.

#### **OFFICERS 2012-2013**

Dave Johnson	President
Tim Sleep	Vice President
Dianne Heard	Recording Secretary
Shannon Richards	Corresponding Secretary
David Hunsberger	Treasurer

#### **BOARD OF DIRECTORS**

Sue Bergren (2013) Dave Johnson (2013) Tim Sleep (2013) Dennis Curry (2014) David Hunsberger (2014) Julianne Vanden Wyngaard (2014) Linda Dzuris (2015) Laura Ellis (2015) Thomas Lee (2015)

# **COMMITTEE CHANGES**

- 1. Appointments are in process and will appear in the November issue of *Carillon News*. Organizational and leadership changes are as follows.
- 2. Archives: The Guild has established a formal relationship with Bok Tower as noted under Board Actions. Bok Librarian and Archivist Joy Banks will serve on the committee, which is in process of appointment.
- 3. Carillon News: Shannon Richards joined the committee.
- 4. Legal: Oliver McDonald joined the committee.
- 5. Central Mailing: John Bordley became permanent chair.
- 6. **Music Publications, Arrangements Subcommittee:** Frank DellaPenna and Vera Wuensche joined the subcommittee.
- 7. **Public Relations:** The committee was terminated and vacated. It will be incorporated into a new **Public Relations and Website Committee**.
- 8. Website & Internet: The committee was terminated and vacated. It will be incorporated into a new Public Relations and Website Committee.

### **BOARD ACTION**

- 1. Established a formal relationship between the GCNA and Bok Tower for the ongoing preservation and organization of the Guild's archives.
- 2. Accepted the April 30, 2012 Treasurer's Report and forwarded it to the Finance Committee for review.
- 3. Accepted the proposed 2012-2013 budget and forwarded it to the membership for approval.
- 4. Approved the proposed 2013 Barnes Memorial Scholarship slate of jurors: Arla Jo Anderton-Gideon, David Christensen, Jim Fackenthal, Mary McFarland, David Osborn, Joseph Shields and Julianne Vanden Wyngaard.
- 5. Approved 2013 congress dates (see below).
- 6. Approved Denver, CO, as the site of the 2014 Congress. Dates will be determined.
- 7. Approved Mariemont, OH as the site of the 2017 Congress. Dates will be determined.
- 8. Approved a \$15 reduction in dues, irrespective of membership category, for students who are studying the carillon and who present fee statement and instructor certification as proof.

### **EXAMINATION COMMITTEE 2013**

Patrick Macoska, Coordinator	Helen Hawley
Jeremy Chesman	Carol Jickling Lens
Lee Cobb	Ray McLellan
Jeff Davis	Tin-Shi Tam

For information regarding the 2013 examination, see the Guild website.

**2013 GCNA CONGRESS:** House of Hope Presbyterian Church, St. Paul, MN, June 18-21, 2013. Pre-Congress Day June 17: Registration, Host Recital, Welcome Reception. Post-Congress Day June 22: Rochester Carillon at the Mayo Clinic, Rochester, MN.

**CARILLON NEWS:** Sue Bergren <u>suebergren@wideopenwest.com</u> and Mark Lee <u>markwlee@mac.com</u>, editors. Submission deadlines are September 15, 2012 (Fall Issue) and February 15, 2013 (Spring Issue)

# MISCELLANEOUS

- The board recommended and the membership approved William De Turk as Honorary Member.
- The Texas Regional Carillon Conference will be held at the Church of the Good Shepherd, Corpus Christi, October 19-20. Contact Gretchen Ryan at bgryan@sbcglobal.net.
- A moment of silence was observed for Wim Franken, Maud Keldermans, Sydney Newhouse and Richard Tappa.
- Ed Hermann and Tiffany Ng are the recipients of the 2012 Barnes Memorial Scholarship.